Riders will now be able to cancel a trip by selecting the option 'driver asked to pay off-the-app' under specific circumstances.
The new feature empowers riders to take immediate action should they encounter situations where the driver asks for payment for a trip outside the app, requests payment exceeding the agreed-upon trip fare, or encourages cancellation of the trip to go offline.
Munira Ruhwanya, Operations Manager said: “We're thrilled to unveil our newest cancellation feature, crafted to minimise offline trips and address situations where drivers attempt to charge rates higher than those listed in the app. At Bolt, we strongly discourage both drivers and passengers from exchanging contact information or arranging offline rides through our platform. This practice contradicts the safety and reliability standards we strive to maintain for our community”.
She said when drivers and passengers go offline, vital safety features such as GPS tracking and in-app SOS assistance become inactive, leaving users without access to crucial safety tools.
“Staying online ensures the functionality of these features and prioritises the safety of all users. Additionally, we have implemented measures to address drivers repeatedly reported for soliciting offline rides. These measures may include temporary bans or account suspensions, reaffirming our commitment to providing a secure platform for all users,” she said.
To ensure safety for both drivers and passengers, Bolt encourages both passengers and drivers to take advantage of the safety features provided in the app's Safety Toolkit.
These features are specifically designed to operate during active (in-app) trips.
She noted that Bolt is committed to providing a secure and reliable ride-hailing experience for all users.
The introduction of the new cancellation reason option reinforces this commitment, offering riders a powerful tool to prioritise their safety and well-being.




.jpeg?itok=vCj6bCRe)






